IPI REWARDS INNOVATION AND EXCELLENCE IN PLANNING

The category winners of this year's Irish Planning Awards, including the President's Award, which was won by Limerick City and Council, were announced by the Irish Planning Institute (IPI) at the awards gala on 28 September, to acknowledge the diverse range of projects and plans taking place at local, county and regional levels around the country.

his year's President's Award, which was presented to Limerick City and Council at the IPI Planning Awards 2023 ceremony on 28 September in Dublin's Clontarf Castle, served to highlight examples of excellent public participation and best practice.

Limerick's 'Young Person Participation in Land Use Planning' project formulated trailed and implemented a school consultation programme to engage young people in the preparation of the development plan and local area plan processes. The President's Award was presented by Kieran O'Donnell TD, Minister of State with responsibility for Local Government and Planning.

IPI President Mary Mac Mahon said that the awards serve as a testament to the invaluable role of planning in Irish society. "They celebrate our diverse, dynamic, and sustainable projects, showcasing the positive impact of planning on our communities.

"As President, it's been my privilege to elevate the profile of planning and to honour the achievements, diversity, and potential within our sector. With entries spanning the island, all our winners exemplify excellence."

A total of 24 entries recognised out of 48 entries submitted, which included public and private sector organisations from Dublin, Kildare, Limerick, Cork, Antrim, Tipperary, Meath, Clare, Louth, Galway, Offaly and Donegal.

This year's judging panel comprised Mary Mac Mahon MIPI (IPI President), Charlotte Sheridan MIPI (RIAI President), Henk van der Kamp FIPI (Secretary General of the ECTP-CEU – the umbrella organisation for spatial planning institutes in Europe and past president of the IPI), Terry Prendergast MIPI (former board member of An Bord Pleanála) and John O'Hara MIPI (former Dublin City Council Planning Officer).

The Department of Housing, Local Government, and Heritage was the main awards sponsor, in addition to Wave Dynamics Acoustic Consultants and Uisce Éireann.

The individual categories of 'Climate Action and Biodiversity' and 'Research and Innovation' were sponsored by FuturEnergy Ireland and the Office of the Planning Regulator (OPR) respectively.



Pictured at the presentation of the President's Award to Limerick City & County Council were (I-r): Vincent Murray, Limerick's Director of Planning, Environment and Placemaking; Kieran O'Donnell TD, Minister of State with responsibility for Local Government and Planning; Mary Mac Mahon, IPI President; Maria Woods, Senior Planner; Siobhan O'Dwyer, Executive Planner; Karen Burke, Senior Executive Planner, and Cllr Dan McSweeney, Limerick's Deputy Mayor.

THE CATEGORY WINNERS FOR 2023:

- **President's Award Limerick City and County Council –** Young Person Participation in Land Use Planning
- Plan Making Kildare County Council The Athy Local Area Plan 2021-2027 and the Development of a New Generation of Local Area Plans for Kildare
- Employment & Enterprise County Kildare Leader Partnership CLG Barrow Blueway Economic Plan
- Urban Regeneration and Heritage Donegal County Council Ballyshannon Historic Towns Initiative Project
- Climate Action Biodiversity EirGrid The Celtic Interconnector Good Practice linking Planning, the Planner & Climate Change
- Sustainable Communities and Placemaking Meath County Council Kilcloon Community Development
- Research and Innovation EMRA on behalf of the three regional assemblies of Ireland – Regional Development Monitor (RDM) and joint winner South Dublin County Council – 'Instantaneous Data' – A South Dublin Approach to Active Land Management
- Workplace of the Year South Dublin County Council #Making it Work
 @ SDCC_Planning

Mary Mac Mahon, President of the Irish Planning Institute (IPI), presented awards to the other seven category winners.





Urban Regeneration & Heritage - Donegal County Council



Sustainable Communities & Placemaking - Meath County Council



Research & Innovation - Joint Winner South Dublin County Council (sponsored by the OPR)



Employment & Enterprise - County Kildare Leader Programme



Climate Action and Biodiversity - Eirgrid (award sponsored by FuturEnergy Ireland)



Research & Innovation - Joint Winner EMRA on behalf of Ireland's three regional assemblies (award sponsored by the OPR)



Workplace of the Year - South Dublin County Council